ACTION ALERT ON NATIONAL IMMUNIZATION FUNDING

 

We need your help!

Background

On July 29, the U.S. House of Representatives approved the fiscal year 2022 (FY22) Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies (Labor-HHS) appropriations bill that funds the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  The bill provides $718.6 million for the 317 Immunization Program, which is a $105 million (17 percent) increase over the prior year. This is one of the largest annual increases for the 317 program in many years.

The bill also includes a $1 billion for a new public health infrastructure program which can be used to support activities across CDC, including funding for state and local health departments, workforce, information systems, and public health programs that could include immunization activities. 

Soon the Senate will be releasing their version of this funding bill.  Earlier this year, twenty-four senators signed a letter circulated by Sen. Jack Reed (D-RI) urging the Senate Appropriations Committee to allocate $1.13 billion to the 317 Program. The following members signed the letter:

  • Sen. Jack Reed (D-RI)

  • Sen. Angus King (I-ME)

  • Sen. Brian Schatz (D-HI)

  • Sen. Cory Booker (D-NJ)

  • Sen. Tina Smith (D-MN)

  • Sen. Thomas Carper (D-DE)

  • Sen. Gary Peters (D-MI)

  • Sen. Ed Markey (D-MA)

  • Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA)

  • Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL)

  • Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)

  • Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

  • Sen. Maggie Hassan (D-NH)

  • Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)

  • Sen. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)

  • Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)

  • Sen. Chris Murphy (D-CT)

  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

  • Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR)

  • Sen. Jacky Rosen (D-NV)

  • Sen. Chris Coons (D-DE)

  • Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

  • Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

  • Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)

The more support expressed for increased funding for the program, the more likely it will be maintained –– or expanded –– as the Senate considers FY22 appropriations.

Action Needed

 

1. If your senator signed on the letter, please consider sending an email now to both thank them for their support and urge them to fund the 317 program at the House level or higher.  Email addresses for Senate staff are below.​​

 

Sen. Jack Reed (D-RI)

Staffer: Jill Boland

Email: jill_boland@reed.senate.gov

 

Sen. Angus King (I-ME)

Staffer: Megan DesCamps

Email: megan_descamps@king.senate.gov

 

Sen. Brian Schatz (D-HI)

Staffer: Meghan O'Toole

Email: meghan_otoole@schatz.senate.gov          

           

Sen. Cory Booker (D-NJ)

Staffer: Gloria Nunez

Email: gloria_nunez@booker.senate.gov

 

Sen. Tina Smith (D-MN)

Staffer: Kripa Sreepada

Email: kripa_sreepada@smith.senate.gov

 

Sen. Tom Carper (D-DE)

Staffer: Anthony Theissen

Email: anthony_theissen@carper.senate.gov

 

Sen. Gary Peters (D-MI)

Staffer: Darian Burrell-Clay; Kaitlin Johnstone

Email: darian_burrell-clay@peters.senate.gov; kaitlin_johnstone@peters.senate.gov

 

Sen. Ed Markey (D-MA)

Staffer: Brianna Battle

Email: brianna_battle@markey.senate.gov

 

Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA)

Staffer: Kevin Chang

Email: kevin_chang@cantwell.senate.gov

 

Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL)

Staffer: Max Kanner

Email: max_kanner@durbin.senate.gov

 

Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)

Staffer: Alison Council

Email: alison_council@blumenthal.senate.gov

 

Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

Staffer: Alex Graf

Email: alex_graf@stabenow.senate.gov

 

Sen. Maggie Hassan (D-NH)

Staffer: Ian Hunter

Email: Ian_hunter@hassan.senate.gov

 

Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-MA)

Staffer: Tess Byars

Email: tess_byars@warren.senate.gov

 

Sen. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)

Staffer: Stephanie DeLuca

Email: stephanie_deluca@duckworth.senate.gov

 

Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)

Staffer: Rachel Fybel

Email: rachel_fybel@whitehouse.senate.gov

 

Sen. Chris Murphy (D-CT)

Staffer: Elizabeth Darnall

Email: elizabeth_darnall@murphy.senate.gov

 

Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

Staffer: Ashley Bykerk

Email: ashley_bykerk@klobuchar.senate.gov

 

Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR)

Staffer: Rebecca Nathanson; Shawn Bishop

Email: rebecca_nathanson@wyden.senate.gov; shawn_bishop@finance.senate.gov

 

Sen. Jacky Rosen (D-NV)

Staffer: Megan Thompson

Email: megan_thompson@rosen.senate.gov

 

Sen. Chris Coons (D-DE)

Staffer: Kelsey Daniels

Email: kelsey_daniels@coons.senate.gov

 

Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

Staffer: Abby Duggan

Email: abigail_duggan@brown.senate.gov

 

Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)

Staffer: Martha Sanchez

Email: Martha_Sanchez@vanhollen.senate.gov

Phone: 202-224-4654

 

Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)

Staffer: Justin Schardin

Email: justin_schardin@feinstein.senate.gov

2. Let them know why securing a robust increase in program funding is necessary for your organization in their state. (Sample talking points are detailed below.)

3. Encourage them to also support the House’s inclusion of a new $1 billion public health infrastructure program at CDC.

Talking Points/Content for Email

 

  • I am contacting you to thank the Senator for supporting our request to provide $1.13 billion for the 317 Immunization Program by signing on to a letter circulated by Sen. Reed’s office.

  • Vaccines are one of the greatest success stories in public health and are among the most cost-effective ways to prevent disease.  Childhood immunizations over the past twenty years have prevented 381 million illnesses and 855,000 deaths and saved nearly $1.65 trillion in societal costs.  Unfortunately, millions of children and adults have missed routine vaccinations due to the pandemic, putting years of success in jeopardy.

  • An effective vaccine campaign is critical for controlling COVID-19. It requires the establishment and maintenance of a robust public health immunization infrastructure.

  • Providing $1.13 billion for the Section 317 Program in FY 2022 would sustain the improvements made through the emergency supplemental bills to restore routine immunizations and ensure future preparedness.

  • It is crucial that the Senator continue advocating for an increase in funding for the 317 Program as the Senate moves through the appropriations process.

  • In July, the House passed the Labor HHS appropriations bill and included a $105 million increase for the 317 program.  We urge the Senate to provide at least the level of funding included by the House.

  • We also support the $1 billion that the House included in this bill for a new CDC public health infrastructure program that would be flexible funding for additional investments in public health, that could also include additional support for immunization programs.